top of page

"Yellow Wife" by Sadeqa Johnson

Hey everyone! Today's review is about the book "Yellow Wife" by Sadeqa Johnson.


Let me start by saying this book was definitely a stretch from my comfort zone. Something about it though, just pulled me in. I have always loved Civil War history, from both sides, so to read it from the perspective of a slave during that time was intriguing to me.


Yellow Wife did not disappoint. I found myself thrust into the life of a Mulatto girl. Born out of wedlock from a negro mother, and white plantation father, compared to other slaves, Pheby Brown, had it somewhat easy. Promised freedom for her 18th birthday, she awaited the day she could move away from the plantation home that had captured her from birth. When he mother and her master are killed in a vicious accident, the mistress of the plantation sees the opportunity to finally exact revenge on Pheby.

Sent to the vicious "Devil's Half-Acre" Pheby is forced to make decisions every day, just trying to stay alive. Broken by the stories that are held by the slaves that come to her everyday in preparation to be sold, Pheby holds their stories close, while living and bearing children as the beloved mistress for the very Devil himself.

When the chance comes to save not only her firstborn son, but his father, her previous lover from the plantation, Pheby must decide between her own security, and giving it all to save the ones she loves.


I truly enjoyed this book, and it was an eye-opening story for sure!


4 STARS

-Hannah Grace


Content Advisory: There were some minor sex scenes in this book, personally I skimmed over them, normally not something I would read at all, but the book was worth. There is also some period language as well.




bottom of page